Loading ... ... Please wait!








 Home page | Kent D4 Medical  Medical Examination |  What To Bring |  Business Account |  Onsite Medicals |  Work Medicals | Kent D4 Medical  Contact Us |

Ambulance Driver Medical

To become an ambulance driver you will need a minimum of a C1 licence due to the weight of the vehicle you will be driving. When an ambulance is loaded with equipment and patients it often falls between 3.5 and 7.5 tonnes.

All drivers of police, fire, coastguard, ambulance and health service vehicles require a DVLA D4 medical examination. Any responsibility for determining higher medical standards over and above these licensing requirements, rests with the individual force, service or other relevant body.

LGV Category C1 (3.5 – 7.5 tonnes)

From age 18 years category C1 is for light goods vehicles between 3.5 and 7.5 tonnes.

Although LGV licences appear to be staged C1, C, you can go straight to cat C and get a better licence without having to do C1 first.

Paramedic students will require this licence to drive ambulances.

PCV Category D1 (Minibus Medical)

You can drive minibuses with 9 to 16 passenger seats from age 21.

The D1 driving licence is a legal requirement for those driving most types of minibus on medical and school business. If you passed your car test after January 1997 you are not entitled to drive a minibus without taking an additional D1 Test.

If you hold an ‘acquired rights’ car licence issued before January 1997, and have category D1 you will still need to apply as a new applicant if you want to have the restriction code (101) removed.


<< Back

  Kent D4 Medical

Copyright © 2020 Kent D4 Medical
System powered by Page On Web Media